Skip to main content

American Business Women's Association Midlands Chapter, Columbia, SC 29201

Over 50 years of service to the Midlands Community
About Us
Contact Us

2016 High School Scholarship Recipient   


Education Chair, Melinda Huggins, presented anAchievement Certificate and Scholarship Award to High School Senior, Casey Reeder at the 2016 ABWA Awards Banquet. Casey will attend Clemson University Fall 2016. Howard University senior, Brandi Montgomery, received a $500 scholarship award, making 2016 her fourth year as a recipient. Casey and Brandi competed with several other students. They were selected based on their high scholastic achievement and exceptional community involvement.


ABWA Local Lucretia M. Cayruth Scholarships                                              

The Lucretia M. Cayruth Scholarship of The American Business Women’s Association (ABWA) Midlands Chapter is a local initiative established to help individuals achieve their business or professional goals through higher education. This objective is in keeping with the mission of ABWA, which is to “bring together business women of diverse backgrounds and to provide opportunities for them to help themselves and others grow personally and professionally through leadership, education, networking support and national recognition.”  This scholarship is awarded in the Spring of each year.

ABWA National Scholarships  
Since its inception in 1953, the Stephen Bufton Memorial Educational Fund (SBMEF) has been assisting women in achieving success through higher education. Today the educational fund of the American Business Women's Association (ABWA) is considered one of the most highly respected grant and scholarship programs for women in the country. Over the past 60 years, the fund's Board of Trustees has awarded more than $16 million in scholarships to more than 16,000 women thanks to the generous contributions of ABWA members. SBMEF assists women who are pursuing advanced educational goals to achieve both business and professional success; to become role models, mentors, and leaders for the future. Selection of scholarship winners in communities across the United States has grown into one of ABWA's favorite and most long-standing traditions. The Stephen Bufton Memorial Educational Fund (SBMEF) is classified as a charitable 501(c)3 organization whereby contributions payable to the fund are tax-deductible. The fund is listed in the U.S. Internal Revenue Service "Cumulative List of Organizations" described in Section 170(c) of the IRS code of 1954 - revised Oct. 31, 1974. SBMEF's Board of Trustees selects the scholarships to be awarded each year, reviews all applications and determines the scholarship recipients. 

Scholarships For ABWA Members
Stephen Bufton Memorial Educational Fund is another great opportunity for ABWA members, their family members, their friends and local students to apply for.

Keep watch throughout the year for opportunities to apply for scholarships. (National Scholarships, Outright Grants, Impact Scholarships & Business Skills Tuition Reimbursements).